A piano recital by Alexander Hanysz
J.S. Bach, twelve preludes and fugues selected from the Well-Tempered Clavier
Debussy, Footprints in the snow, The interrupted serenade, Puck's dance, Heather, Ondine, Canopic urn

Elder Hall, University of Adelaide
Monday, 29th November 2010, 8pm

Tickets at the door, $25/$10 concession

Enquiries: telephone 8373 7942 or send email

(cute picture goes here)

In the programme for last year's recital I wrote these words:
It has always seemed to me that playing the whole of Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier in order is the musical equivalent of reading an entire dictionary beginning at page one. I have always been full of admiration for any musician who can sit down and play twenty-four preludes and fugues in one evening, then come back the next night and play the other twenty-four. I have just as much admiration for anyone who can listen intelligently to such a collection of music and appreciate everything that’s going on. But isn’t it nice sometimes to pick just a few words out of the dictionary and try to put them in an interesting order?
This year I'm presenting part two of my leisurely ramble through Bach's 48 preludes and fugues, this time with Debussy as guest composer. I have long been fascinated with the idea of "musical kaleidoscopes": trying to hear old music with fresh ears by putting it next to something different. I hope that the many-layered counterpoint of Bach's fugues next to the many-layered textures of Debussy's preludes will tell an interesting story!

Here is a preview of the programme notes for the concert (PDF download, 102K).

Thanks to Lahn Stafford Design for the penguin picture.

Back to home page